Loading, please wait...

Portland Rosen Wins Heather Wilbur Award

The Heather Wilbur Spirit Award was established in 2003 to honor former Epson Tour player Heather Wilbur, who lost her battle with leukemia that same year. Wilbur was also the first recipient of the award, which honors the player that best exemplifies dedication, courage, perseverance, love of the game and a spirit toward achieving goals as a professional golfer. Individuals are nominated and voted on by Epson Tour membership. Last night, Portland Rosen was presented with the award by friend and fellow Tour member Madison Pressel (Boca Raton, Florida).

Rosen on receiving the Heather Wilbur Spirit Award: “I feel so honored and humbled to receive the Heather Wilbur Spirit Award because what is exemplifies is how I have always strived to be. Whether I shoot 68 or 78, win a tournament or not, I am so thankful to my fellow competitors who notice these qualities about me. I have always hoped to be a good example of the game of golf, whether it be to young girls or people I play with in Pro-Am events because golf means a lot to me and it is a very big part of my life. Receiving it from Madison made it that much better because she is one of my best friends on Tour and we are together every second of everyday, going through the ups and downs of golf life. No matter what, we always try and make it fun.”

Pressel on presenting the Heather Wilbur Spirit Award: “It was such an honor to present Portland with the Heather Wilbur Spirit Award. She is so kind, generous and selfless, and represents everything that the award stands for. No matter what obstacles are placed in her way, she always has a smile on her face and encourages everyone around her to be their best. The Epson Tour is lucky to have her as a competitor!”

Past Recipients

  • 2018 - Portland Rosen 
  • 2017 - Laura Wearn 
  • 2016 – Ally McDonald
  • 2015 – Casey Grice
  • 2014 – Min Seo Kwak
  • 2013 – Melissa Eaton
  • 2012 – Nicole Jeray
  • 2011 – Izzy Beisiegel
  • 2010 – Mo Martin
  • 2009 – Malinda Johnson
  • 2008 – Katie Fraley
  • 2007 – Jenny Hansen
  • 2006 – Katie Connelly
  • 2005 – Salimah Mussani
  • 2004 – Lindsay Wright
  • 2003 – Heather Wilbur
Top Stories